The rotator cuff is a series of muscles and tendons that act upon the shoulder to help hold the ball into the socket and perform complex movements allowing us to move our arm.

The rotator cuff has four main tendons:

  • Supraspinatus
  • Infraspinatus
  • Subscapularis
  • Teres Minor
The long head of the biceps tendon is a tendon that also crosses or enters the shoulder between these muscles and may also be injured if the rotator cuff is injured.

The rotator cuff is separated from the point of the shoulder or the acromion by a small fluid filled sac called a bursa. Bursae are normal in all people however, if we have a rotator cuff injury or a spur on the point of the shoulder / acromion, we may get inflammation within this bursar called bursitis.

Injury or wear and tear to all of these structures within the shoulder can cause pain and disability and the inability to use the shoulder.

Rotator Cuff Surgery Perth

Perth Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine Centre

31 Outram Street
West Perth WA 6005

9.00am – 4.00pm Monday to Friday

FAX  +61 8 9212 4264

© 2008-2021 Perth Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine Centre | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Website design: WebInjection